Government Lottery in India

Table of Contents

The government lottery in India has been popular for a long time. At present, only 13 Indian states have legalized state lottery. Only residents of these states can buy government lottery tickets.

Luckily, there are online alternatives available in the form of international lotteries that people from anywhere in India can participate in. Keep reading to find out.

Visit FUN88 and play real money casino games

13 Legal State Lotteries in India

Each Indian state has the authority to legalise or ban lottery. And so you find a government approved lottery in only 13 Indian states. All these states conduct their own lottery draws, and you can participate in them only if you live in such states.

The following Indian states offer government lotteries.

  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Goa
  • Kerala
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Maharashtra
  • Manipur
  • Meghalaya
  • Mizoram
  • Nagaland
  • Punjab
  • Sikkim
  • West Bengal

States Where Government Lottery is Banned 

Govt approved lottery games are banned in 17 states. However, residents of these states can legally buy tickets to international lotteries online. 

Below, you’ll find all Indian states that have banned government lottery.

  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Bihar
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Delhi
  • Gujarat
  • Haryana
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Jharkhand
  • Karnataka
  • Odisha
  • Rajasthan
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Telangana
  • Tripura
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Uttarakhand

Indian State Lottery Games 

LotteryNo. of GamesMin. Ticket PriceBiggest Jackpot
Arunachal Pradesh7₹6₹26.03 lakhs
Assam10₹2 – 7₹1 lakh
Goa6₹6 – 10₹2 crore
Kerala7₹30 – 50₹25 Crore
Madhya Pradesh3N/A₹10 lakh
Maharashtra18₹10 – 200₹1 crore
Manipur5₹6₹27 lakh
Meghalaya7₹29 Lakhs₹29 lakh
Mizoram3₹6₹10 lakh
Nagaland4₹6 – 10₹1 crore
Punjab2₹10₹5 crore
Sikkim3₹10₹19 Lakh
West Bengal3₹2 – 10₹1 crore

Types of Government Lottery Draws

There are two types of draws in any govt lottery:

Weekly Draws

Weekly draws are held once or several times a week, offering participants to win smaller prizes more frequently.

Bumper draws 

Bumper lottery draws only happen a few times during the year, usually around festivals like Diwali, Holi, Christmas, or New Year. These draws offer significantly higher prizes.


Do I have to Pay Tax on Government Lottery Winnings?

Yes, winnings over ₹10,000 are subject to a 30% tax.

Which Was the First Indian State Lottery?

Kerala was the first state to introduce a state lottery in the 1960s.

Which is the Biggest State Lottery in India?

The Thiruvonam Bumper Lottery is the biggest government lottery run by the Kerala state government.

Which is the Best State Lottery in India?

The Kerala state lottery is the best, with Bumper prizes going up to ₹25 crores.

Which Was the First State to Ban Lottery in India?

Andhra Pradesh was the first state to ban lottery in 1968.

What is Dear State Lottery?

The Dear lottery is a company that distributes government lottery tickets, and it was founded in 1991. It is a member of the Asia Pacific Lottery Association and the World Lottery Association. It was the first company to telecast live draws on TV.

Experience several seasons of casino games when you play here!

all fun at FUN88!

Read more articles about online casinos