IPL Betting

Table of Contents

We all love IPL Betting. But it’s sometimes difficult to know where to place bets. As a result, we have compiled a list of legal sites and bonuses offered so you can easily compare and choose.

On these platforms, cricket fans can place bets on the Indian Premier League from their laptops or mobiles. With cricket being such a well-loved sport, the ability to place bets online whenever you desire has made IPL an eagerly awaited league each year.

Visit FUN88 and play real money casino games.

Recommended Sites To Bet On IPL Online

There are many online betting sites, and new ones launched every so often, all claiming to be the best of the best. However, it’s up to you to find out whether they live up to their hype, and that’s where we can help.

On our platform are some of the most reputable sportsbooks for Indian bettors who would like to bet on the IPL. We’ve personally vetted these sites to ensure they are safe, offer some of the best markets, and most importantly, accept customers from India. Some of these sportsbooks are detailed below,

The IPL also features highly among the broad sports selection. You can make your bets in INR, with no need for any complex currency conversions before you wager.

About The IPL

Cricket has a history that dates back to the mid-16th century in England. However, the Indian Premier League has only been around for a little more than a decade, having begun in 2008 when the first league took place.

The creation of this league was brought about by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, and it served as a way for the best cricket teams to battle it out for the title of the best in the sport. The matches began with teams from different Indian cities throughout March, April and May.

Winners now earn not only cash rewards, but also the chance to compete in the annual Twenty20 Champions League. Cricket fans from all over the world flock to attend these matches during every season. As such, the Indian Premier League has come to be known as one of the most attended sports leagues in the world.


There are currently eight teams in the IPL, consisting of professional cricket players from around the world.

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Kolkata Knight Riders

The league has grown to heights that allow it to have some of the best paid players globally. On average, the highest paid IPL players make upwards of ₹15 crore. Only NBA players surpass the salaries earned by IPL players, which serves as a testament to the league’s rising reputation.

The IPL franchises are performing well too. Mumbai Indians, the richest team in the IPL (and one of the richest cricket team in the world) is worth astonishing ₹803 crore. And let’s not forget Kolkata Knight Riders (owned by Shahrukh Khan) is worth ₹704 crore. Not bad numbers at all!

Defunct Teams

Since the first league matches in 2008, five teams have dropped out of the IPL for a variety of reasons.

Kochi Tuskers Kerala – joined the league during its fourth season in 2011. Their first two matches resulted in losses, followed by three consecutive wins. They finished in the eighth position out of the ten participating teams in their final season. The Kochi Tuskers Kerala team were later terminated by the BCCI after a dispute between the team’s owners led to a breach of the league’s terms and conditions.

Deccan Chargers – a part of the league from the first season in 2008, up to the fifth season in 2012. Managed by Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited, their first season saw them win only 2 of the 14 matches held. However, in the second season, they won the title while in South Africa. During their third IPL season, they managed to win eight matches, while the fourth season saw them winning six games. 

Their fifth season was their last, with only four wins and a no-result against the Kolkata Knight Riders. After the 2012 season, the BCCI terminated the team due to a breach of contract, when the owners declined the only offer made to buy the team when it was up for sale.

Pune Warriors India – they were a part of the IPL for the fourth through to the sixth season. The team was one of the two newest entrants in the IPL alongside Kochi Tuskers Kerala in 2011. They came 9th during their first IPL season, and their 2nd season was no better as they finished in last position. During the 2013 season, they finished in 8th position, pulling out of the league two days later over financial differences with the BCCI.

Rising Pune Supergiant – this team came as a replacement in 2016 when the Rajasthan Royals and the Chennai Super Kings were banned for match-fixing. Their first season was unfortunately marred by losses and injuries; however, they didn’t finish in last place. During the 2017 season, the team then won 9 of their matches. They were later dissolved as the Chennai Super Kings were set to come back to the IPL in the 2018 season.

Gujarat Lions – another team added to the league as a replacement for the banned IPL teams. They finished the 9th season with a total of nine wins, but weren’t as lucky in the tenth season, earning only four wins. The team were then disbanded to make room for the Rajasthan Royals to come back the following season.


Matches within the IPL get played in a double round-robin format. Each of the eight teams plays at home and also away during the league phase. Winners earn two points, while the losers earn no points, and the top four teams then qualify for the IPL playoffs.

Based on the points earned, the winner will play with the team that was placed 4th during the league phase, leaving the 2nd and 3rd teams to play against each other. In case there is a tie in the standings, the higher ranking team gets determined using the Net Run Rate.

The team that wins the first playoff automatically moves forward to the IPL finals. The team that loses the second playoff gets eliminated. The two remaining teams then compete against each other to see which proceeds to the finals, with the winner of this qualifying match moving to the finals to battle it out for the IPL title.

Experience several seasons of casino games when you play here!

all fun at FUN88!

Read more articles about online casinos